The second surgery in a week…

…actually happened.

It was at the other hospital (Herlev, as opposed to Riget), so there was no food or fluid restriction. This surgery was for removing the acute catheter and replacing it with the permanent (still temporary, though) catheter. This one basically goes right to the heart the same as the acute, but not directly into the jugular at the neck. The access is behind the collar-bone and it is far less fragile, and less vulnerable to infection.

The surgery went well, and the doc did a great job at minimizing the amount of scarring and using minimal stitching. Henning complained a bit… the scars make him look like he was attacked by a vampire. Kind of cool… but few will ever see it, due to the doc’s great stitch-work…

So now this catheter is working great. He can even fully shower with it, which is fabulous. I am still leery of it. I can’t quite figure my reaction. I have changed many a bandage in my day, and after working as long as I did in both the nursing home and the hospital, you’d think nothing would throw me. In fact, I can witness anything… but I just can’t get a grip on my reaction to changing the plaster on this catheter. I don’t know if it is because it does go right to his heart, or because it is so vital to his health, or what. But in any case, Henning can do it himself, so it is not a huge deal that I can’t do it without getting cranky or some other inappropriate reaction… but it bothers me that it bothers me… which doesn’t really help at all.

Anyway, the day after the catheter surgery, we picked up my daughters from the airport and had a whirlwind two weeks seeing every sight Denmark has to offer in the winter, that we could get to and from in any given 7-hour day. The girls were astonished that it was only daylight for such a short time… lol

It was a fabulous visit, and too short. But we look forward to them coming this summer. Hopefully by then, we will have this round of endless surgery behind us, and if not dialyzing at home, be very close to that goal. The days will be longer too, and we won’t have to worry about blizzards at the zoo…

2012-12-23 15.47.17

Leave a Reply

