Dialysis and partying

So it’s been just about two weeks since I made it home and things are still moving along smoothly. I have had no serious accidents in the time I’ve been home.

My schedule is 5 times a week at 3 hrs. But I have mostly been doing 4 hrs at slightly lower speeds since that should help clearing phosphate and some of the large molecules better when I am on the machine for longer at each session. And I feel great (most of the time) Now we will see later in the week. I went in for blood tests today and that should give me a good measure of how I am doing with my schedule.

And now for something completely different.

I went to a bachelor party last Saturday and I needed to schedule it just right. We were supposed to be on the island of Fyn 2 hrs away at 11 and I had to pick up 2 other friends on the way so it was an early morning for me. So I made sure to dialyze at a reasonable hour the evening before so I would get a good night’s sleep before I went on my adventure. I also had my personal assistant come by Saturday to set up the machine for Sunday when I came home. It all went according to plan. We had an amazing day camping, drinking, telling tales of the old days and just generally being boys, falling asleep with the sound of the ocean in my ears. It just doesn’t get much better.

All it really took was some good planning. Making sure I was well dialyzed over the week so I could use one of my free days being away for 48 hrs.

So now I can plan a longer vacation next time. Of course the goal is going to the States, seeing my amazing wife and her 3 phenomenal girls (still have to meet one of them) But I am thinking of a longer trip to Fyn. So now I am going to get some supplies shipped over there so I can just go whenever I want – just like the good old days of getting in the van, this time bringing Monster Mary.

Sure there have been some minor mishaps but they will have to wait for another day. I did have a minor blood bath involving the finest spray I have ever seen in my life – so minute that it took me a while to even discover it until my wheelchair and a table as well as the floor was covered in the finest little droplets. But that’s the sort of fun you can have when you are not quite awake to do something as important as clean your own blood.

One thought on “Dialysis and partying

  1. I got you….it sucks to look down and realize you’re bleeding all over and didn’t even know…LOL(used in correct context)

Leave a Reply

