Sweden, travelling and needles

If you have read some of Melissa’s posts here you might have noticed a certain lack of enthusiasm with the way things are done at my regular ward. I will not go into the details of bad practice here. There are lots of things I think could be improved and Melissa and I don’t always agree on what they are but both of us have been pretty disappointed.

So the trip to Sweden was a real eye opener. We came back happy as clams, not because it was perfect there – it was just so much better. We were received as old friends returning home. This despite the fact that I had only met Britt-Mari, the head nurse very briefly at a conference about ‘patient empowerment’ and we had spoken to each other for no more than 2 minutes.

Last time I promised to talk a little more about the questionnaire that she gave us from Joakim, the design student who is working on improving the experience for home dialysis patients. Since then I have changed my mind about that.

I started writing this post with that in mind but it turned out to be way longer than I had anticipated. So I have decided to make a dedicated page where I will discuss the different issues more at length. They deserve to be more than just part of a regular blog post – especially since I am planning on working with them in the future. I have a strong desire to make this part of my work, there are lots of dialysis patients out there who deserve way better treatment than they are receiving at the moment.

So back to me.

I am doing relatively good at the moment. I have found a good rhythm. I go and do in-center dialysis for four hours three times a week. Yes, it is tedious and it requires a lot of patience. And yes, I do not like to be poked with two needles with a diameter that reminds me of a broom handle. And yes, it is really, really annoying to have to sit still with your left arm for four hours without a break – not moving it too much even when my hand is about to fall asleep. But… the advantages are that I have time to read and write, I can catch up on my emails, I can do some research, I can read the newspapers that I don’t get to read all the other days. There really is plenty for me to do while I sit there.

I have even spent a couple of days making preparing one of my presentations that I do for work. Usually when I do that sort of thing I spend way too much time doing all kinds of other things while doing it. But when I do it while dialyzing I am forced to sit there and concentrate – and guess what, it works! I got some pretty good presentations out of it.

I am now preparing to move my dialysis home with me. It does require a few things; first of all I need to be able to be 100 % self-sufficient, doing all the steps myself. I think I am pretty far along that path already, I can set up the machine and break it down again, I can find everything I need to start, run and finish my treatment. The only thing I haven’t mastered – or tried for that matter – it self-cannulating. Or for those of you, who are unaware of that sort of weird terminology, poking myself with the aforementioned ginormous needles. But as of next week I am joining the ranks of self-flagellants, those weird people who inflict pain on themselves. In my case it is a pure self preservation practice, though.

I honestly don’t know how I feel about it. I am hesitant, excited and scared at the same time. But no matter how I feel about it, it is necessary for me to do it if I ever want to enjoy a modicum of freedom again. And if there is one thing I am pining for it is the freedom to move about. I have never felt so disabled as I do now that I have become a dialysis patient, no wheelchair or any other mobility device tethers you to your surroundings like the little plastic tubes and needles of this life-saving device from hell, called a dialysis machine.

It is a long and interesting discussion about disability and dialysis, so I think I will stop here before I get carried away again.

2 thoughts on “Sweden, travelling and needles

  1. Pingback: Sweden, travelling and needles | Big Blog of Everything

Leave a Reply

