And finally…

… we had a really fantastic day.

Friday morning, Henning went to dialysis while I prepared the turkey and side dishes. I managed my Embassy errand, and Henning’s dad was kind enough to play chauffeur. He didn’t even laugh when I started belting out, “Cecilia” along with the radio. What can I say. I was tired. Plus… who doesn’t love that song?!

By the time Henning returned home, dinner was nearly ready, and our first guests were arriving.

I can’t even describe the day. It was sublime. Everyone brought a dish to share, and all the food was spectacular. Our friends are amazing. Everyone was full of love and good wishes. We had jazz in the background, wine in the foreground, and we were all in great spirits. 🙂

The day ranks in the very top percentage of good days I have had. After the month we have had, to spend the very last day of it in such great company, surrounded with love and support, was truly a gift.

November is a month of Thanksgiving for my country. I have struggled sometimes with trying to find things to be thankful for, in the midst of all we have faced this month. I have been sarcastic, I have been angry, mostly I have been fearful… But, looking back over the month, it is clear to me how very blessed I am, to have the opportunity to live this life I chose with the man I love.

To everyone reading, thank you for all you have given us. I enter the holiday season with a lighter, yet vastly fuller heart, and I look forward to sharing more adventures with you soon.

Leave a Reply

